Minifinity The Classic Mini Forum and Resource | • View topic - Changing Sills

Changing Sills

Minifinity's library of knowledge about owning, maintaining, modifying and repairing your Mini. Subjects covered range from fitting a new stereo head unit to selecting a camshaft for your modified motor.

Moderators: Club Admins, Minifinity Staff

Changing Sills

Postby Zippyrude » Thu 27th Dec 2012, 02:39am

Righty then I was asked to write a technical guide to changing sills. So here we go, first let me state that I am not a professional but I have learnt from some of the best in the business, while I am an amateur I consider myself a good amateur and as such have a large amount of kit which the normal home hobbyist might well not have, however I will show you all how I change sills and hopefully from the images I have put up should provide more of an idea how to do it.

Firstly let's get one thing straight I don't use oversills, they are bad and make the car structurally weak, I also do not go in for the big mistake of cutting out all the rot then fixing it, I do one piece at a time, that way the car stays straight through out the process.

Now here we have our car, it's a 1991 mini which has been owned by my family since new, after building a car for my mum last year, my dad requested one for himself, meaning that the one I'm building for myself gets put on hold again. It's the red one in the background of the pictures.
As you can see she has been fully stripped, in my opinion the only way to do major bodywork is to remove all interior and fittings and be able to roll it over, I don't go in for this laying on the ground stuff.